To do a number


“Actually, after while, finding the ideas is the easy part.
Sorting them through and turning them into stories, now, that’s the hard work.”
– Sarah Zettel
I was super enthusiastic about creating a dance piece on mathematics. It sounds interesting and different – and complex. And it is all of that. What it is not, is easy.
The dance is ready in theory, and girls in faded reds on a dark stage are dancing it in my head. And yet every single step eludes me. I know what I want it to look like, and sound like and yet I cant see it, nor hear it. And I am waiting for all the numbers to just add up.
Tracing a theme of hindu philiosphy meets mathematics, this piece bundles up fractals, and triangles, theorems and integers, spirals and triads – to celebrate numbers. I am not a mathematician. Yet more numbers are twirling around me, and tempting me to use them. “I am 3, I am pretty”.
In another fortnight, the chaos will cease and equations be laid from end to end. And numberland will come alive on stage.
Leave a Reply

Being a dancer

Ashish Shakya

Writer. Stand-up comic. General idiot for hire.

Craft Apple

I sew. I hoard fabric. What do you do?

Melancholic Ecstasy

Life ... Uncensored !

Indian Food Rocks

Being a dancer

Hark, A Vagrant!

Being a dancer

The Ballet Bag

Because ballet ROCKS!

Pointe Til You Drop

Being a dancer

Adult Beginner

It's not pørn; it's ballet

